My good friend Tigerlilly lives on an escarpment near Nimbin. Her dear cottage looks over one of the most stunning views I know. She grows vegetables in her garden, has chickens and goats, and raises two gorgeous little girls with love and gentleness. She is one of my greatest inspirations.

Tigerlilly makes things, from scratch. She makes her own cheese, pasta, sauces, kombucha, sprouts things, soaks things…everything healthy and nourishing. If I could think of one person who encapsulates my idea of nourishment, it would be Tigerlilly.

Here’s her recipe for beetroot soup.

Tigerlilly's beetroot soup
Tigerlilly’s beetroot soup

You will need:
4 x medium beetroot with leafy tops attached (if no tops, substitute with spinach or any leafy greens)
some Himalayan sea salt (you can use regular salt but I think this gives a sweeter taste)
extra virgin olive oil
1 x onion (optional)
1 x clove garlic (optional)
4 x medium potatoes
some yoghurt or fresh cream to garnish
a handful of fresh chives
hot buttered sourdough toast (or any toast you like – ciabatta is good with this soup)

Method:
Warm a splash of olive oil in a large pot, chop the beetroot into roughly equal segments (around 1 cm), the onion and finely chop the garlic. Add to olive oil, stir around pot to coat mix evenly with olive oil. I usually add more olive oil to coat ingredients and add the sea salt to taste.  On a very low heat let the mix slowly cook. Stir regularly to allow even heating of the ingredients.  Once the mix starts to smell really good (looks and smells like it is becoming caramelised) I chop the beetroot tops (or greens) and stir into the beetroot mix until they wilt.  At this point I add enough boiled water to cover the beetroot and let the mix simmer.  Usually I am doing other things in the kitchen so I just let it go for an hour or so. Then I slice the potatoes and add to the soup, making sure vegetables are covered with water and let it simmer for another hour or so.  Then I use a stick blender to blend into a yummy red soup.

Serve with a dollop of greek yoghurt (or thick cream), sprinkle with chopped chives, and slice the toast into 2 cm strips and place around the bowl so you can dunk and eat the soup off the toast. Add salt and pepper to taste.

I find this an easy meal to prepare between activities with the kids and housework, as you just add and stir here and there and there’s enough for a meal the following day as well as some to go into the freezer.

Tigerlilly. 

Please join me at the Heart Mama Community on Facebook, and subscribe to receive posts by email if you enjoy reading.

