My name is Kristin.

mama and Leo

I am a mum, with three gorgeous children, who all have various food intolerances.  Through educating myself about how best to care for my children, I have developed a passion for health and well being.  I share stories of motherhood and my triumphs in the kitchen on my blog, mamacino.

Nourishing with food

Using food to show our love for our family is something mothers have been doing for generations.

When I think about nourishing food, I always go back to my roots, my Italian heritage.  I think about the food my family has enjoyed in the past and connect to that history.  I think about using simple, whole ingredients to prepare something really special.  Simple, real, honest food, in my experience, always satisfies the soul a well as the taste buds, especially when it is prepared with love.

For me, taking the time to prepare wholesome, delicious, healthy food for my children is something that I prioritise.  It doesn’t have to be fancy, or time consuming.  It doesn’t require expensive ingredients or use up every dish, utensil and electrical appliance in the kitchen.  It just has to taste great…and be great for you!

Potato and Herb Omelette

My potato and herb omelette is one of those meals you can whip up on a Sunday night when there is almost nothing left in the fridge.  It is simple, quick and easy and most importantly, a winner with children and adults alike.

omlette 1

What you need:

2 or 3 potatoes, peeled and sliced

6 eggs (preferably organic)

¼ cup parmesan cheese

A good handful of parsley, chopped

Sea salt and cracked pepper

Olive oil

What to do:

Heat a medium sized fry pan (that is oven proof) over medium to high heat and add a good drizzle of olive oil.  Turn on your grill.

Add potatoes to the pan and cook until golden brown on both sides.

Meanwhile, add the eggs, parmesan, herbs, salt and pepper to a bowl and whisk to combine.

When the potatoes are ready, pour the egg mixture over the top and cook for a few minutes, until the bottom is golden and cooked well.

Pop the whole pan under the grill until golden and puffy on top (alternatively, you can attempt to flip the omelette – good luck!).

Turn omelette out on to a heavy wooden board or a plate.  For grown ups, top with lightly dressed rocket and for children, serve with hot, buttered toast.

Other suggestions:

No potatoes? No problem.  Try one of these great combinations, or create your own…

  1. Cherry tomato and basil
  2. Mushrooms, thyme and goat cheese
  3. Kale and spicy (or not so spicy) sausage

I hope you enjoy my Potato and Herb Omelette as much as my family does.

Happy Eating!

mamacino x

Visit Kristin at mamacino blog or her Facebook page for more delicious recipes. 

