It is full moon and the barometric pressure is rising. I feel like I am ready.

Does it sound weird to say that I am excited about labour? I can’t wait for that first, heavy contraction – that bite that will contort my body and tell me it’s all on. Perhaps, half way through, I will change my mind, and be more excited about the labour ending than beginning…but for now, the anticipation is almost more than I can bear.

Who is this inside of me? Is it a boy or a girl? What will they be like?

How will the birth go? How long will I labour for? Will it all be OK?

We are at that strange cross road – perhaps the strangest and most significant cross road of life – where we wait for the complete unknown to happen. We are about to meet a new life. How strange. How significant. How magnificent.

This afternoon, I lay in the hammock with Elka. The wind blew, and clouds gathered. There was a power in the air. All I could do is stare at the trees against the grey sky and stroke Elka’s forehead. My uterus was contracting. My body was preparing itself. My mind was blank, as I stared into those trees against the grey sky.

It could be tonight. It could be two weeks from now – who knows? And regardless of what the psychic-types who own stalls at the markets say, who knows if it’s a boy or a girl? Who knows who this baby is, and what they will be like as a person?

Nobody knows.

But I can’t wait to find out.

