I am tired… I can barely see. My eyes are fogging over. And yet Monday nights are the only opportunity to blog, so here I go…foggy eyes and all.

There isn’t really much one can write about when one has foggy eyes, but I thought I would upload photos of a recent craft venture – The Elka Book. Essentially it is a quiet book – a book made of fabric, filled with activities and velcro bits. Of course the idea is to keep a child quiet, but Elka hasn’t quiet been absorbed enough in my efforts to remain quiet for long…

Still, I am proud of my creation, especially given the minute amount of time and energy I have for crafty things.

Here goes…

There are about eighteen pages of activities, like sticking the butterfly on a mushroom, or putting cars on the road, or dressing a dolly, or tying shoe laces. Surprisingly, it didn’t take that long to make. So…crappy photos of an excellent creation. The joy of The Elka Book lasted for about 5 minutes, until Elka took it in the car with her and for the first time ever got car sick, spewed pancakes and yoghurt all over the pages and I think a few pieces never made it out of the washing machine. But the process was fun…and well-intended. Just more inspiration to never attempt a craft project ever ever again.

On other Elka Book related news, we received a gorgeous parcel today from my friend Margot’s mother. Margot was my school friend who died in a car accident eight years ago. It was so awful to lose such a special person. Elka’s second name is Margot, so a little piece of her will live on to the next generation…Margot’s mother, who we are still close to, wanted to find a way to make Margot real for Elka. So she made a book. It is gorgeous. It is called Margot’s Farm and using photos, traces the life of the farm through the seasons and through different orchards. Molly, the boarder collie, features throughout, as does Margot, who plants the grapes with her dad and makes hot cross buns. We sat together tonight with “Dinie’s book about Margot” as it is fondly named, Elka reading along and pointing out where the doggy is and the rainbow, which she aptly called “Margot’s rainbow”. It is amazing how children are so receptive to ceremony and sentiment. Margot certainly became more real for Elka this evening.

The fog has cleared and I can see! Just in time to do the washing up…

