What is wrong with the world? Reading an old edition of New Idea this morning (ok, there’s one thing that’s wrong with the world), I learnt that the press are chastising Posh Spice Beckham for holding her four-month-old baby girl ALL THE TIME! God forbid. Really? She couldn’t possibly hold a four-month-old baby all the time, that is just so unnatural, especially when she commissioned a designer pram to be made to her coördinates. I really am shocked. What is Posh thinking?

Of course, I am far more deeply shocked that people really give a crap if Posh holds her tiny baby instead of putting her in the pram. See, I have a theory: touch and physical contact enhance development. Children feel nurtured, and so does their skin, and their little neurons and cells fly around, thrilled to bits. Their confidence grows, they feel safer…they feel loved. I believe Elka is living testament to this theory of mine. Go Posh, hold your baby – I support you. It’s the best start you can give her (before priming her to take over your soon-to-be billion dollar brand).

Meanwhile, in the ZanniGregElka home, things are getting organised. Without much ado, and with very little input from me, Elka has toilet-trained herself. Greg put in the initial leg work, by one day asking Elka if she would like to use the toilet. It turned out she did. And when he asked her again, she wanted to pee on the toilet again. And again and again. The next day we kept asking her, and then realised we were annoying her, because she was quite capable of telling us herself. The following day, we went shopping with no nappies. She peed in the garden before going into Vinnie’s and we got home without an accident. Every day since has been the same, and all three of us have grown in confidence.

I had dreaded toilet-training, as I anticipated it would be a lot of effort. I had heard tales of woe, and I knew my lazy spirit would be tested by a need to diligently watch for pee signals. But it isn’t so. Elka simply tells me when she needs to go, and before we get in the car or go into a shop, I ask her to pee and she does. It’s been so easy. I know it isn’t so for everyone, so I apologise to those mums reading this who’s run was not so smooth.

The other advantage of toilet-training has been as opening of a new communication channel. Although I consider I am generally child-focus, quite often I am absorbed in washing up or trying to get dinner on, or more often than either of those things, chatting with friends. Now, the threat of wet knickers forces me to be more onto it, more attentive. I am down at Elka’s level asking her frequently about peeing and pooing, and when she can stand this repetitive tirade  of questions, I  listen and am aware of her needs.

So Posh might be crazy for holding her baby, but Elka is toilet-trained. So, that’s one to us!

 

 

 

 

