This is my exciting foray into guest blogging. I would like to welcome my lovely friend Nicole to the blog. I know Nicole from good ol’ primary school days, and we have reunited through Facebook – sharing woes about baby sleep and baby spew. Thanks for this gorgeous idea Nic! xx

Lavender Shortbread Bliss

This time last year among 2 hourly night feeds and little time to myself, I used to dream of the day I could bake yummy things and still take care for my baby. That day has arrived so here is a recipe for easy (but tres chic and impressive to your friends) –  lavender shortbread. I like to make them love-heart shaped because lavender tastes like love, don’t you think? Enjoy, Nic x

Recipe –

115g rice flour
225g plain flour
1 pinch salt
115g castor sugar
225g butter, chopped
2 tbsp dried lavender (culinary variety, not regular french lavender because it contains camphor)
pure icing sugar, for dusting.

Place all ingredients into a food processor and mix until a soft dough starts to form.
Turn out on to a lightly floured surface and roll out to 5mm thick.
Cut out with biscuit cutter shapes and place on a baking paper lined tray.
Bake until lightly browned.
Sprinkle with pure icing sugar while still warm.
Make a cuppa and dip away!

