This gorgeous idea came from my good friend, Ellie.

The play dough recipe is from the back of the Cream of Tartar packet, bought from Coles. I did a quarter of the measure for each colour. Basically:

1 cup plain flour
1 cup water
1/2 tbsp oil
1 tbsp cream of tartar
1 tbsp salt
Colour
Essence or essential oil

Cook ingredients on a low heat, mixing continuously, until congealed.

Predictably, I matched colour with scent, e.g. peppermint = green, strawberry essence = red etc.

I went crazy with the colours – I used a lot of dye.

A box of these play doughs would make a beautiful present. I have made them for our epic plane journey to San Fran – we take off on Monday! Yikes. I am trying to prepare as many little activities (on the cheap side) as possible to keep young Elfie entertained.

More creative activities to report on soon…

