Despite buzzing from an exercise high, we have had a less than average week.

One by one things stack up against us, and it feels that if one more item is placed on the pile, the pile might tumble and suffocate us…

We have constant financial concerns…so when we  received bill after bill this week, including rates, it became overwhelming…

Then my licence ran out (three months ago – luckily Elka was playing with my cards, and my mum discovered the expiry date long past)…

Then we realised Greg isn’t able to get dual citizenship…which will affect if he can study on HECS or not in Australia. He was about to hit “submit” on the passport application, when he discovered the not so great news…

Then Elka got impetigo, poor chicken. She was restless overnight, and the next morning the little pimple on her nose had become a big fat open blister, and they were all over the rest of her…Reluctantly we took her to the doctor, who prescribed antibiotics, which we are not so keen on, but rather she gets better quickly. I just hope the impetigo doesn’t recur too often…

Then we had to replace the starter battery on our car, making what was meant to be an inexpensive car service a lot more expensive…

Then the poem I wrote on the theme of passion to win tickets to Byron Bay Writer’s Festival  didn’t win, though it got a mention on Local ABC radio…

Up until today, all these crappy things kept coming at us, but I felt fine. We were still laughing, as we do at most things, and doing exercise every day certainly paid dividends. Then, today I woke up with aches and pains and a headache, which seem to be the start of a cold. So I can’t complete my 14 day exercise challenge! And all this rubbish after having a miscarriage only about 2 weeks ago…

So, in Lismore this morning, I did what I always do in a crisis, and indulged in a little retail therapy. Like chocolate, the therapeutic effect wears thin the moment you open up your shopping bags and feel miserably disappointed with what you bought.

Once up a time, I had an income, and occasionally took to the shops. Admittedly, apart from when I was 11, I have never been a big shopper…The malls make me dizzy, and I couldn’t ever stomach paying $6o for a singlet top, no matter what I was earning. So my retail therapy was conducted at the markets or in an op-shop.

Now that I have no income, and we live on a shoe-string, I still can’t help but to pop into Vinnie’s on a bad day. Inevitably, I always emerge with two or three bags of goodies, having spent about $20. Much of that stuff goes back to Vinnie’s at some point, but for its’ life with us, we manage to find some enjoyment. More than I would from a $60 singlet.

Here, for example, is a favourite op-shop purchase, selected lovingly by Elka. In fact, we cannot go into an op-shop these days without yet another “Dolly” making it into the mix. Isn’t she beautiful? We have many more of equal quality and style.

Dolly from Vinnie's

Today, having had such an expensive week, I restricted myself {and oh did I restrict} to a expenditure of $2, on a little pair of pink sandles for Elka. They are too big but I figure that by summer Elka will have grown, and by summer, she can no longer wear her wee blundstones.

Therapy complete, and apart from my cold, and the dire realisation that I have broken my fitness promise to myself, I feel ok (thanks to Vinnie’s).

Zanni xx

Shoes from Vinnie's

 

 

