(29th April, 2011)
So, like the other 2 billion or so people around the world, I sat glued to the TV watching the Royal Wedding. Luckily I was staying with Mum, as she has a TV, we don’t. And if I had tried to watch it on our computer, Greg would have booted me off for sure after 30min of frivolity so he can watch the tennis (his argument is he is not a monarchist, but it’s probably more that he is just a guy).
Oh, and what a wedding it was. The dress was splendid, Kate looked gorgeous, Will’s blush was touching…Julia Gillard looked lovely in Oyster and Navy, and some of those hats were…questionable. But it got me thinking – why? And what is all this pomp and fanfare for?
Memories of my own wedding came flooding back. We had a great time, four years ago, on a little country hill on a stormy afternoon. I had little to do with the planning – Mum did the most part.
Everything that was organised worked out so well – the band, the catering, the venue. Years later, people still say it is one of the best weddings they have been to. Unlike Will and Kate’s, it was largely to do with the relaxed vibe, and the fact that everyone came, drank and danced, and that was that.
Friends have been married since, and every time I attend a wedding, I am struck with the same tear-jerking, heart-squishing sentiments. These people love each other, and are planning to stick together forever, through it all, even the arduous wedding preparations. And a secret part of me always feels a bit sad or jealous or something…now this person is married, and I won’t be as much part of their life. Strangely, I even felt this last night – here was the man I had dreamt about marrying when I was eight or nine…Convinced, in fact, that he and I would fall in love one day – that striking, and sensitive Prince called Will. And there he was with another girl, committed and tied to this girl I didn’t know forever…
That’s the irony of marriage, I suppose. Is it forever? As we know, so many couples break up. Out of the Royal Windsors, Queenie’s still married, and so is Edward, but the rest are either onto their second marriage or separated. So these vows that we so piously make, with hands on hearts…do we really mean them? Or are we just saying?
Greg and I dealt with this one swiftly when we married. We had been together for a matter of weeks when Greg first proposed. We spent three months living together before we were married, and hence, were tentative when making the big commitment. We wanted it to work, desperately, and we were going to try. But in the eyes of the Good Lord (who wasn’t invited to our wedding, but I am sure was there somewhere), we promised to support each other to grow. And that was the only promise we made. Four years later, we are still supporting each other. We barely fight, we accept each other’s differences, and we love each other tirelessly. But who knows where the future will take us?
I wasn’t alive when Diana and Charles married, but the images are firmly planted in my mind. Images of the Royal Kiss, Diana stepping out of her carriage. All the vows, the pomp and the fanfare that day, the promises and of course everyone’s expectation that this couple would represent for us everything we hope love and commitment will be. Of course, we were sorely disappointed. Nothing is as it seems.
But I wish Will and Kate all the best…as a modern couple, they have it a bit easier perhaps than Di and Charles did…they are more mature for one, and have a history together, and obviously a great love. May all our expectations of their perfectness not hinder them, and may they continue to support each other to grow, despite all the regalia that comes with that promise.
To me, the Royal Wedding will always bring back memories of a beautiful morning spent with my girls and their babies, a vast selection of teas, cucumber sandwiches, scones and a lot of love.
